Best's Insurance Professionals and Claims Resource

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Attorneys Search > Company Display
Best's Recommended Insurance Attorneys
General Defense
704 Carondelet Street
New Orleans, Louisiana 70130-3774Locate in Google Maps
Telephone: 504-581-3838
Fax: 504-581-4069
www.phjlaw.com
Practice Areas
About Us
Additional Locations
Client Information
Personnel
Additional Links
Established: 1928

Practice Areas
  • Insurance Defense
  • Insurance Coverage
  • Extra-Contractual Defense
  • Admiralty and Maritime Law
  • Toxic Torts
  • Fraud/Special Investigative Unit Claims
  • Retail and Hospitality
Back To Top

About Us
Porteous, Hainkel & Johnson is a Louisiana firm whose lawyers focus on the defense of insurance companies, their insureds, retailers, and trucking and transportation industry clients. More than one-third of all Porteous lawyers possess the Martindale-Hubbell highest achievable AV rating. Attorneys at Porteous, Hainkel & Johnson have experience in virtually every aspect of insurance litigation. Whether an automobile liability policy, homeowner's policy, general liability policy or a more complex CGL policy, our firm has the knowledge and experience to handle all of our client's litigation needs. Porteous, Hainkel & Johnson enjoys a long standing reputation for its skill in personal injury defense, insurance coverage litigation, fraud and special investigation claims and property claims.
Back To Top

Additional Locations
Covington, Louisiana
408 North Columbia Street
Covington, Louisiana 70433-2920
Telephone: 985-893-4790
Fax: 985-893-1392
Thibodaux, Louisiana
211 West Fifth Street
Thibodaux, Louisiana 70301-3199
Telephone: 985-446-8451
Fax: 985-447-3004
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
343 Third Street, Suite 302
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70801-1309
Telephone: 225-383-8900
Fax: 225-383-7900
Back To Top

Client Information
Insurance Clients
Allstate Fire and Casualty Insurance CompanyAllstate Insurance Company
Allstate Property & Casualty Insurance CompanyAmerican Family Insurance Group
American Inter-Fidelity ExchangeAmerican National Insurance Company
Chubb Group of Insurance CompaniesDirect General Insurance Company
Endurance American SpecialtyEndurance Specialty Insurance Ltd.
Energi Insurance Services, Inc.Esurance Property and Casualty Insurance Company
Farmers Insurance GroupHomesite Insurance Company
Lighthouse Property Insurance CorporationLouisiana Farm Bureau Insurance Companies
Mississippi Farm Bureau Insurance CompanyNationwide Insurance
Regional Insurance Services Company, LLC (RISCOM)Scottsdale Insurance Company
Shelter General Insurance CompanyShelter Mutual Insurance Company
Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance CompanyState Farm Fire and Casualty Company
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance CompanyTexas Farm Bureau Insurance Companies
TravelersUnderwriters at Lloyd's, London
United Fire GroupUSAA
Non-Insurance Clients
City of ThibodauxDick's Sporting Goods, Inc.
Go-Park LLCHoneywell International, Inc.
J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.Lafourche Parish Government
L Brands, Inc.L & M BoTruc Rentals, Inc.
REV Group, Inc.Rouses Markets
U-Haul International, Inc.
Back To Top

Personnel Information
Partners
William A. Porteous, Jr. — (1899-1969)
F. Carter Johnson, Jr. — (1905-1964)
John J. Hainkel, Jr. — (1938-2005)
William A. Porteous, III — (1937-2006)
C. Gordon Johnson, Jr. — (Retired)

James R. Carter — (Retired)

James S. Thompson — (Retired)

Ralph R. Alexis, III
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:ralexis@phjlaw.com
Practice Areas
  • Civil Rights
  • Litigation
  • Wills
  • Estate Planning
  • Trusts
  • General Civil Practice
  • Professional Liability (Non-Medical) Defense
  • Employment Law
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1973
  • District of Columbia, 1977
  • U.S. Court of Federal Claims, 1975
  • U.S. Tax Court, 1977
  • U.S. Supreme Court, 1977
Education:
  • Tulane University, B.A., 1971
  • Tulane University, J.D., 1973
  • The George Washington University, LL.M., 1976
Born:1949
Back To Top

Adrianne Landry Baumgartner
Covington, LA
E-Mail:abaumgartner@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1978
  • U.S. Supreme Court, 2007
Education:
  • H. Sophie Newcomb Memorial College, B.A. (cum laude), 1975
  • Louisiana State University and A & M College
  • Tulane University, J.D., 1978
Honors:
Order of the Coif
Born:1953
Back To Top

Glenn B. Adams
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:gadams@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1978
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.A., 1975
  • Louisiana State University, J.D., 1978
Born:1953
Back To Top

Fred M. Trowbridge, Jr.
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:ftrowbridge@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1985
Education:
  • St. Mary's Dominican College, B.S. (cum laude), 1980
  • Loyola University, J.D., 1984
Born:1953
Back To Top

William C. Lozes
Covington, LA
E-Mail:wlozes@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1987
Education:
  • University of Southwestern Louisiana, B.S., 1981
  • Loyola University, J.D., 1987
Born:1955
Back To Top

Charles L. Chassaignac, IV
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:cchassaignac@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1991
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.S., 1988
  • Louisiana State University, J.D., 1991
Born:1965
Back To Top

Michael G. Gee
Thibodaux, LA
E-Mail:mgee@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1990
Education:
  • Tulane University, B.A., 1987
  • Louisiana State University, J.D., 1990
Born:1964
Back To Top

Dan Richard Dorsey
Covington, LA
E-Mail:ddorsey@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1987
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.A., 1984
  • Loyola University, J.D., 1987
Born:1962
Back To Top

James R. Nieset, Jr.
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:jnieset@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1997
Education:
  • Tulane University, B.A., 1991
  • Tulane University, J.D., 1996
Born:1968
Back To Top

Nicholas C. Gristina
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:ngristina@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2002
Education:
  • Millsaps College, B.A. (cum laude), 1999
  • Paul M Hebert Law School at Louisiana State University, J.D./B.C.L., 2002
Born:1977
Back To Top

Bryan J. Haydel, Jr.
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:bhaydel@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2001
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.A., 1997
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D., 2001
Born:1975
Back To Top

Matthew L. Mann
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:mmann@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2008
Education:
  • Tulane University, B.S., 2004
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D./B.C.L., 2008
Born:1981
Back To Top

Darrin M. O'Connor
Covington, LA
E-Mail:doconnor@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1996
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.S., 1993
  • Loyola University School of Law, J.D., 1996
Born:1971
Back To Top

Michele T. Barreca
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:mbarreca@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2007
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.S., 1998
  • Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, J.D., 2006
Born:1976
Back To Top
Managing Partner
William Ryan Acomb
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:racomb@phjlaw.com
Practice Areas
  • Insurance Defense
  • Admiralty and Maritime Law
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1985
Education:
  • Tulane University, B.A., 1982
  • Tulane University, J.D., 1985
Born:1960
Back To Top
Associates
Patricia P. Barattini
Covington, LA
E-Mail:pbarattini@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1981
Education:
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette, B.A. (summa cum laude), 1978
  • Loyola University, J.D., 1981
Born:1956
Back To Top

Nancy Lee Cromartie
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:ncromartie@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1988
Education:
  • University of Virginia, B.A. (with distinction), 1985
  • University of Virginia, J.D., 1988
Born:1963
Back To Top

Emily Stickney Morrison
Covington, LA
E-Mail:emorrison@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1987
Education:
  • Trinity University, B.A., 1981
  • Loyola University New Orleans, J.D., 1987
Born:1959
Back To Top

Eleanor W. Wall
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:ewall@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Texas, 2001
  • Louisiana, 2005
Education:
  • Rollins College, B.A., 1992
  • South Texas College of Law, J.D., 2001
Born:1970
Back To Top

Gordon P. Guthrie III
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:GGuthrie@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2012
Education:
  • Paul M Hebert Law School at Louisiana State University, J.D./G.D.C.L., 2012
Born:1985
Back To Top

Rylee Area
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:rarea@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2012
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.S.F., 2008
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D./G.D.C.L., 2012
Back To Top

Sam P. Baumgartner
Covington, LA
E-Mail:sbaumgartner@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2014
Education:
  • The University of Mississippi, B.A., 2007
  • Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, J.D., 2014
Born:1983
Back To Top

Kelly R. Englert
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:kenglert@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2012
Education:
  • Louisiana State University and A & M College, B.S. (Dean's List), 2008
  • Paul M Hebert Law School at Louisiana State University, J.D./G.D.C.L., 2012
Born:1986
Back To Top

Michelle D. Brooks
Thibodaux, LA
E-Mail:mbrooks@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2004
Education:
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette, B.S. (Dean's List), 2001
  • Paul M Hebert Law School at Louisiana State University, J.D./B.C.L., 2004
Language:
  • French
Born:1979
Back To Top

Brendan P. Connick
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:bconnick@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2013
Education:
  • College of Charleston, B.S., 2008
  • Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, J.D. (Trial Advocacy), 2012
Born:1985
Back To Top

Kristopher M. Gould
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:kgould@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • North Carolina, 2010
  • Louisiana, 2011
Education:
  • The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, B.A., 2007
  • The University of North Carolina School of Law, J.D., 2010
Born:1985
Back To Top

Kelsey L. Jarrett
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:kjarrett@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2014
Education:
  • Rhodes College, B.A., 2008
  • The University of New Orleans, M.A., 2010
  • Tulane University Law School, J.D., 2013
Born:1986
Back To Top

Kellye R. Grinton
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:kgrinton@phjlaw.com
Practice Areas
  • Insurance Defense
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2012
Education:
  • Louisiana State University at Baton Rouge, B.A. Communications, 2009
  • Loyola Law School, J.D., 2012
Born:1987
Back To Top

Marla E. Mitchell
Thibodaux, LA
E-Mail:mmitchell@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2011
Education:
  • Georgia Southern University, B.S. (cum laude), 2008
  • Mississippi College School of Law, J.D. (cum laude), 2011
Born:1985
Back To Top

Adrienne D. Rachel
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:arachel@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2012
Education:
  • Louisiana State University and A & M College, B.A., 2007
  • Southern University Law Center, J.D. (cum laude), 2012
Back To Top

Matthew E. Simmons
Covington, LA
E-Mail:msimmons@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2015
Education:
  • Tulane University, B.A., 2011
  • Tulane University Law School, J.D., 2015
  • A. B. Freeman School of Business, Tulane University, M.B.A., 2015
Back To Top

Jade E. Ennis
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:jennis@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2016
Education:
  • The University of New Orleans, B.A. Political Science (magna cum laude), 2013
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D. (cum laude), 2016
Born:1990
Back To Top

Andrew G. West
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:awest@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2016
Education:
  • Southern Illinois University, B.A., 2006
  • Australian National University, M.I.A. (with merit), 2010
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D., 2016
Born:1982
Back To Top

Michael Guerry
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:mguerry@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2016
Education:
  • Louisiana State University, B.A., History, 2012
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D., 2016
Born:1990
Back To Top

Amy L. McInnis
Baton Rouge, LA
E-Mail:amcinnis@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 2004
Education:
  • The University of New Orleans, B.A. (cum laude), 1996
  • Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center, J.D./B.C.L., 2004
Born:1974
Back To Top
Of Counsel
Chauntis T. Jenkins
New Orleans, LA
E-Mail:cjenkins@phjlaw.com
Admitted
  • Louisiana, 1999
Education:
  • Loyola University New Orleans, B.A., 1995
  • Southern University Law Center, J.D., 1998
Born:1973
Back To Top

Additional Links
Insurance Law Blog

Press Releases
Back To Top